Silk

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

Love is made of silk

And there will always be a gap in life

That you’ll never quite be able to fill

 

And loneliness

May make you feel unworthy

I lull myself to sleep with the sweet song of our memories

 

Every time I smell that brand of cigarettes I think of you

I wish we could capture scents

just like we can capture images and record sounds

Scent is the most powerful of our senses

It is not the only one that can evoke feelings

But it’s the only one that can awaken memories

and take you back to a precise location at a precise time

 

Your heart may feel fragile right now

But it is constructed to be able to withstand

this pain you’re going through

In all its beautiful complexity

Its layers of powerful muscles

It will never allow something so small

To break it

.

 

-theheroiccouplet/thewanderess (F.z)

 

