Part VI: The moving on

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

PART VI: The moving on 

November 22nd, 2016. It’s been exactly six months since our dreams were shattered. Half a year has already passed. So quickly, yet so painfully. Six months later, and I finally feel ready to move on. As I mentioned in part I, when we ended it, it felt like someone’d thrown a massive rock on top of me. And the thing is, the rock never really goes away. You just learn to carry its burden. You get stronger in time, and slowly it gets easier and easier to carry. But the weight on your shoulders will always be there. So now it’s time for me to stop troubling myself with idle thoughts and inquisitions of “what if”, “if only” and “I should’ve”. It was indeed a painful, agonizing time of my life. But through it all, I’ve grown. Oh how I’ve grown and matured while grieving for you- you’ll never know. I’ve made up my mind, and I’m ready to look forward, and only forward. That part of my life is over, and it’s time for me to head to the next chapter. What’s the use of reading and re-reading the same pages over and over again? That part of the book is over. And I will never reach the end unless I move ahead. Honestly, I know not what the future awaits. Life may get worse, or it may get better. But what matters is that I’ve freed myself from a great despair, and sorrow and misery. This tribulation in my life was eating up my insides, skin and bone until I was left with nothing but despondency and and urge to give up on everything. I am ready now, to regain motivation for life. I’ve found someone else who loves me, and perhaps at some point I’ll stop apprehensively holding back and love him back in the way he deserves to be loved. But what’s most important to me now, is that I can finally say I regained my self-love, my contentment, my life.

