Learning to appreciate sadness

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

Whenever I had the chance to make a wish as a child, I always wished the same thing; to be happy. After so many years, I still make the same wish. Every time I blow out candles, find a fallen eyelash, see a falling star… Always wishing for happiness. I suppose this says a lot about my personality. I’m a romantic, ambitious, hopeful. It also shows how I grew up filled with so much sadness and loneliness, I ended up wishing for something as genuine and pure as happiness, which was unusual for a child. It wasn’t until recently that I realized, my sadness was a blessing. Give it a thought; What would you write about if you were always happy? What music would you listen to? What would you dream about? Sadness is part of what makes joy special. The most miserable of people made the most talented of artists. Whether you write or play music, draw or paint, write, direct; The only true sources of inspiration are love and pain. Your struggles are what formed you. Would you be the person you are today if you hadn’t gone through what you did? Hope stems from sadness and melancholy. And so I learned to appreciate my sadness. It is temporary, anyway, and so is happiness and so is everything else in the world. Grasp it when it’s there and make something magical out of it.

