Literature enthusiast

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

They say that true love is a very rare thing. But I have found it. I have found true love in literature. Whether it is English or Greek, poetry, drama or fiction, literature has been my only salvation throughout my life. At first I fell in love with reading it, and after I began writing it, I fell for it even more.

Never before has anyone allowed me to speak as freely as literature has. No matter how many men will walk in and out of my life, I will never be able to truly love anyone. My heart belongs to literature. I’ve devoted myself to it, and no man with charms, riches or knowledge will ever console me in the way literature has. Whenever I feel lonely or miserable, it is is here for me, no matter the time or occasion.

It is a beautiful art-form, with all sorts of charisma. It has its way to make you feel so many different things. It has the power to make you feel love, hate, anger, sadness. It has the power to take you away from the ugly reality. Open a book, and you’ll find a magical world where your parents aren’t fighting anymore. You are loved there. You are no longer sad. You are not an outcast; You finally belong somewhere. You have the power to create the world you would like to live in. You are no longer forced to bare with the pain of daily life.

When people ask me what I want to study, I say nothing. You see, I will be taking literature courses in university, but I don’t want to study literature. I want to be literature. That’s what many people fail to understand. There is a fine line between being interested in literature, and being in love with literature. When you are in love with it, you want to escape your body, and have your soul combine with your favorite book. Your passion is so strong, that you would die a thousand deaths, if it meant you’ll save the last piece of writing.

