Wanderlust

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

I have wandered across the world ever sine I was four. I have crossed borders, rivers, oceans. I went from Malta to Portugal. From Greece to Italy. From England to South Africa. From France to Germany. My dream is to wander everywhere. I do not use the word travel, I don’t want to travel. I want to wander. I don’t have a destination. I don’t have a home to return to after I’ve seen everything. I belong to no country. I want to ramble through the unknown streets of Botswana, taste Japanese cuisine. I want to explore the American culture, dive in the beautiful waters of Palau. I want to learn a foreign language, make foreign friends, and write about every single experience, every adventure, every sight and every conversation. I don’t need anybody else to believe in my dream. I believe in it enough to make it true. The only people whose dreams did not come true are the ones that gave up on them. Sacrifices will have to be made, but I am willing to give up everything. I am willing to give up my family, friends, love. I am willing to starve and be homeless. But no matter what, I will leave my mark in every single place on earth. I will roam over each country and I will devour their literature. I will wander ’til the day I die, and I don’t care if I am not remembered after I’m gone. At least I get the chance to say I’ve seen everything. That is my greatest desire.

