What losing a friend feels like

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

I’m sure we all have people in our lives who we miss. Whether they’ve moved away or passed on, we’ve all lost someone important. I live in a small Island, but I am a wanderess, thus I have friends from all over the world. My best friend lives 10 492 km away from where I do. And I miss her more than anything. I might never see her again, and I want to express the way way I feel about that. I’m sure not only me, but many other people who have lost someone they care about will relate to the following:

Dear friend,

I miss you. You have no idea how much I’ve missed hearing your laugh, seeing you walk in the characteristic way that you do. I wish you were here, so you would high five me every time I say a good joke. Seeing you from Skype is not the same. I want to be able to see every angle of you, I want to be able to touch you, feel you near me. I want you to be here when I’m crying and I want to be there when you are. The thought that you might be out there crying all alone truly breaks my heart. And just to imagine that the only thing that led us to living so far away from each other, was a tiny bit of luck. All these miles between us can never break my love for you. The people in my life now will never know me the way you do; because I can only be myself when I’m with you, you’re the only person who fully gets me. You complete me. And even though you’re on the other side of the world, people who are right beside me can never console me the way that you used to. You made me feel alive, and you made me understand what true friendship is really about.

I used to believe soul mates were love partners. But then I met you, and I finally understood that a soulmate is a friend. We instantly clicked and you taught me so many things. Through you I learned not to care about what everyone thinks about me, I learned what a true friend is like, I even got to know myself better because of you. There is no way I could ever possibly explain to you how grateful I am to have met you, and how much I owe you for teaching me how to love myself. I just want to be able to hug you one more time, squeeze you tightly in my arms. I can still remember the day we were to part. We were both in tears; you’d become my sister, and I was losing you. No matter how many people I’ll meet in my short life, I’ll never meet a person kinder and sweeter than you. And the idea that I might never see you again is killing me. Just the thought of it, makes me feel like my heart is being plunged out of my chest. You mean the world to me. I love you.

