A message to all parents

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

The following poem was written by Katerina Malliou, originally written in Greek and translated by me. It is a message to parents out there, who sometimes forget that all a child needs is your love and approval.

While you were yelling, you were teaching me to be afraid of you

While you were yelling, you were traumatising my confidence

While you were yelling, you were teaching me that I had no dignity because I was too young.

While you were yelling, you were teaching me not to dare, not to try new things, not to discover or initiate, so you wouldn’t get mad.

While you were yelling, you made me feel weak and worthless

While you were yelling, you showed me that I couldn’t trust you

While you were yelling, you were teaching me I couldn’t talk to you when I was in trouble, when someone was hurting me, because I feared your reaction.

While you were yelling, you were teaching me that when you love someone, you have the right to mistreat them.

While you were yelling, your voice wouldn’t let me think of your words

While you were yelling, I was sweating, my heart was beating fast, my stomach and my ears hurt

While you were yelling, I was angry you didn’t care for the things I wanted to tell you

While you were yelling, I was wondering where my dad went

While you were yelling, you were teaching me to yell as well

While you were yelling, I was alone.

While you were yelling, I was thinking you didn’t love me anymore

While you were yelling, you were teaching me I was allowed to tread badly someone weaker than me

While you were yelling, you were teaching me how to treat my own children when I grow up

While you were yelling, you weren’t imagining the struggle I have to face now, in order not to become like you.

