Finding my Adventure

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

If you’ve been following my posts lately, you probably know how bored of my life I was and how I was desperate for something exciting. If not, then the previous sentence should pretty much sum it all up. Yes, I was searching for an adventure, I was bored etc. And then I decided to plan a trip to Germany for three weeks. I took a summer camp (you can go from 12-21 years old) because that way I thought it would be more interesting. And I finally twisted my life around. I met amazing people, open minded, with whom I share common interests with, who were fun and fascinating. I tried new things, treated myself with some shopping therapy, had new experiences and I was even learning a new language. For three weeks, my life was perfect. I had everything I ever dreamed of. I truly went on an adventure, and I loved everything about it. Everything there moved faster. I got to be the real me, for the first time. But then, I had to go back. And reality struck me like a bolt of lightning. I hated the fact that I was leaving, going away from the best days of my life, and coming back to a boring place and to boring people with boring ideologies. But at the same time, it was good that it only lasted for three weeks. The impermanence kind of appealed to me. I had the chance to live as if there was no tomorrow. I could do anything I wanted to do, without any consequences. Whereas when you’re in a permanent situation, it’s kind of hard to do so. At the end of the day, however, even the memories of the three weeks I spent there make my life more interesting. And I still keep in touch with the people I met there, which also makes things better. If anyone out there is looking for a new adventure, go on a trip. “We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us”

