Why I don’t believe in Best Friends

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

A lot of people tend to find that friends are the most important part of our lives. And sometimes, maybe they really are. A best friend is something i never really had. It’s not that I was never that close with any of my friends, I just never liked to call someone my best friend.

What is a best friend after all? Is it a person who’s a really good friend or a person you are really close to? Personally, I have all kinds of friends. I have the kind of friends that I love so much and find them awesome, the kind of friends that always support me and are there for me, the kind of friends that I’m really close with and we hang out all the time, the kind of friends we go out together and have lots of fun…However, I don’t know if I should call any of them my “best friends”. Maybe I’m just afraid of the commitment. But I don’t like having a best friend. I don’t want to have one. And I have this “thing” that whenever I get close with a friend of mine, I begin to avoid them and push them away. It makes me uncomfortable, and I don’t know why.

