To parents and children

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

I remember ever since I was a little kid, my parents always pressurized me and pushed me towards becoming great. The whole point why parents pressurize their kids, is because they want them to succeed, but focusing so much on the success of your child, results to parents neglecting their children’s feelings…To all dear parents out there: please make sure your child is always happy. Because at the end of the day, that’s what’s going to make you a good parent, the happiness of your child, and not its success. Of course, if it succeeds as well, then that’s great.

Us teens and children, youth in general, we handle a lot of pressure in our everyday life. Everyone does, but a young person like us can only take so much, and with just a little extra pressure we get depressed, stressed etc. That’s when we start doing drugs and smoking and drinking.

For a very long time, I barely had an hour to rest. My parents focused so much on having me do so many things, that in the end it harmed me instead of benefiting me.

So dear parents, if you keep pressurizing your children, they might get aberrant towards their studying, or it might affect their psychological state. So remember, always prioritize happiness, and not success.

