Forgetting what it’s like

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

After reading and watching the perks of being a wallflower, despite the fact that i love the whole thing, there was one little sentence that really got into my head: “And there are people who forget what it’s like to be sixteen when they turn seventeen.”

You see, I realized we all forget what it’s like to have been something, eventually. Even if truly believe you still remember what it was like, you don’t. None of us does. And when a teen comes and tells you “I am in love” for the first time  or “I’m depressed” and other teenage things like that, you’ll just reply with “I remember I felt that way when I was your age. Trust me, I know exactly how you feel, you’ll get over it”. The truth is though, you don’t know how they feel. You may have known back when you felt that way, but now you don’t. If you’re not going through something right at that moment, you forget completely what it was like being there.

And that’s why a lot of adults find things that teenagers do silly. They forget what it was like being a teen. Even if they think they haven’t, they have, they truly have. And us teens, we forget what it was like being a child. And children forget what it was like being a baby. That’s just how it is. We do grow older, and we do get wiser, it’s inevitable. You go through more things, you have new experiences. But even though you’re older and wiser, don’t judge a person younger than you. You were there once, and just because you forgot what it’s like, doesn’t mean the person is wrong for being that way.

