The Pit

by Girlinshadows (Theheroiccouplet)

I’ve had this one thought that would puzzle me for a long long time. But a few days ago, I discovered that my thoughts were wrong. I was incorrect. I misunderstood love.

My thought: Let’s say there’s this hypothetical pit. Now let’s assume you fell in that pit and you get badly injured…What do you do? Try and climb your way out of there (Duh). Now, even when you do manage to get out of the pit, you still probably have some broken bones, scars and probably even some psychological issues.

The hypothetical pit I was talking about earlier, is a metaphor for love. Now let’s be logical. Why do we keep doing this to ourselves? Why do we keep falling in pits? Even if this time it’s a different pit, it’s still a pit. We know if we fall we’ll get injured but still we keep falling over and over. Why are we deliberately hurting ourselves? Is it some kind of twisted masochist thing we like doing? I simply don’t understand it. We know the result will always be the same, yet we keep making the same mistake. It’s almost as if this pain satisfies us, as if we feed off of it.

These have been my thoughts for a really long time, until I finally think I realized the point of it all. I’m sure you all know the quote “It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey.” And that is exactly what stands for our little pit. We don’t like landing on the hard surface in the very end, and getting injured, but while you’re falling, you get an adrenaline rush, you feel wild and free (that’s of course until you brain realizes “Dude, you’re falling” and then you start panicking). Anyway, my point is, don’t worry about getting hurt in the end. It’s worth it. It’s fun, and crazy and it’s where you’ll create most of your memories. These are the things you never forget. So go out there and make yourself some new memories, and don’t think about it too much. The landing will come when it’s time, there’s no reason to worry about it.

